DE | EN

Reducing the amount of diagnosis and reworking

TADANO FAUN GmbH has been a 100% subsidiary of TADANO Ltd. since 1990. The company is the competence centre of the TADANO Group with respect to the development and manufacture of TADANO all-terrain cranes. All TADANO all-terrain cranes are developed and built at the works in Lauf an der Pegnitz near Nuremberg, before being sold all over the world. TADANO FAUN also develops and builds truck-mounted cranes here. These are mounted on ordinary truck chassis. The factory in Bavaria employs over 700 people.

 

TADANO FAUN GmbH has been a customer of IGH Automation since 2010. When AQIs was introduced, TADANO FAUN opted for staged expansion. The AQIs infrastructure was created in the first stage, and a mobile test system was installed at the assembly end of upper structure production. This is where testing is performed of the upper structure function, and to make sure that there are no faults at the interfaces to the boom and chassis. This ensures that the upper structure is fault-free even before assembly with the boom and chassis.

 

The next step involved putting two adjustment and test stands into operation in the chassis assembly (lower structure).

Benefit to TADANO FAUN

 

  • Tested subassemblies are delivered for final assembly
  • Time saved thanks to automated testing tasks
  • Reducing the amount of diagnosis and reworking
  • by the staged introduction of manageable investments

Carsten Henglein – head of Control at TADANO FAUN GmbH about AQIs

Why did you need to re-invest in your testing and measuring systems?

Mr. Henglein: The mobile cranes consist of three main components. These are: Chassis (also known as the lower structure), upper structure and boom. We wanted to test the functions of all three main components before they are assembled together. In the past, part tests of the components were carried out and the completed crane was tested at the end. If the crane was faulty, fault diagnosis was very time-consuming and the crane had to be partially disassembled again in order to be repaired.

 

Why did you choose the AQIs solution over other solutions?

Mr. Henglein: In AQIs' favour was above all the possibility of extending it in stages and starting off with manageable investments. There was also the fact that when we introduced the first test stand we were able to get acquainted with the system and the software and learn how to use them. We were able to use this for the following test stands, and the software familiarisation phase was eliminated when these were installed.

  

What did you want to achieve with the investment?

Mr. Henglein: We wanted to shorten the time needed to diagnose and repair a fault, and to digitally record, trace and evaluate the faults later. Our aim was guided test sequences so as to also shorten the production time in that way. Furthermore, we wanted to link the final check of the subassemblies to the measuring system and to digitally document these measurement results. We wanted to construct a digital product file.

 

Which of your objectives were achieved thanks to the AQIs solution?

Mr. Henglein: We achieved the desired time saving because all adjustment, and test sequences now run automatically in a guided dialog with the tester. The processes are more transparent because a precise analysis of the cause is now possible thanks to the automatically recorded digital test data. We plan on introducing more AQIs test stands.

© IGH Automation GmbH 2017

DE | EN

Reduzierung von Diagnose- und Nacharbeitsaufwand

TADANO FAUN GmbH ist seit 1990 eine 100%ige Tochter der TADANO Ltd. Das Unternehmen ist das Kompetenzzentrum der TADANO Gruppe hinsichtlich Entwicklung und Fertigung der TADANO All-Terrain Krane. Alle TADANO All-Terrain Krane werden in dem Werk in Lauf an der Pegnitz bei Nürnberg entwickelt, produziert und anschließend weltweit verkauft. Des Weiteren entwickelt und baut TADANO FAUN hier LKW-Aufbau- krane, die auf handelsübliche LKW-Fahrgestelle montiert werden. Im bayerischen Werk sind über 700 Mitarbeiter beschäftigt.

 

TADANO FAUN GmbH ist seit 2010 Kunde der IGH Automation. Bei Einführung von AQIs hat sich TADANO FAUN für einen stufenweisen Ausbau entschieden. Im ersten Schritt wurde die AQIs Infrastruktur geschaffen und ein mobiles Testsystem am Montageende der Oberwagenproduktion installiert. Hier werden die Funktionalität des Oberwagens und die Fehlerfreiheit der Nahtstellen zum Ausleger und Fahrgestell geprüft. Somit wird sichergestellt, dass der Oberwagen bereits vor dem Zusammenbau mit dem Ausleger und dem Fahrgestell fehlerfrei ist.

Im nächsten Schritt wurden zwei Einstell-, Test- und Prüfstände in der Fahrgestellmontage (Unterwagen) in Betrieb genommen.

Benefit für TADANO FAUN

 

  • Lieferung von geprüften Baugruppen an die Endmontage
  • Zeiteinsparung durch automatisierte Prüfaufgaben
  • Reduzierung von Diagnose- und Nacharbeitsaufwand
  • durch stufenweise Einführung überschaubare Investition

Carsten Henglein – Leiter Steuerung von TADANO FAUN GmbH über AQIs

Warum brauchten Sie eine neue Investition in Ihrer Prüf- und Messtechnik?

Herr Henglein: Die Mobilkräne bestehen aus drei wesentlichen Komponenten. Diese sind: Fahrgestell oder auch Unterwagen genannt, Oberwagen und Ausleger. Wir wollten die Funktionen der aller drei Hauptkomponenten bereits testen, bevor sie zusammenmontiert werden. In der Vergangenheit wurden Teilprüfungen der Komponenten durchgeführt und am Ende der fertig montierte Kran geprüft. Wenn der Kran fehlerhaft war, war die Fehlerdiagnose sehr langwierig und der Kran musste für die Reparatur teilweise wieder demontiert werden.

 

Warum haben Sie sich für die Lösung AQIs und gegen andere Lösungen entschieden?

Herr Henglein: Für AQIs sprach vor allem die Möglichkeit, stufenweise auszubauen und mit überschaubaren Investitionen zu beginnen. Hinzu kam, dass wir bei der Einführung des ersten Prüfstandes das System und die Software kennen und bedienen lernen konnten. Dies konnten wir für die Anforderungen an die folgenden Prüfstände nutzen und bei der in Installation dieser, entfiel die Kennlernphase der Software.

  

Was wollten Sie mit der Investition erreichen?

Herr Henglein: Wir wollten die Zeit für die Diagnose und Reparatur eines Fehlers verkürzen sowie die Fehler digital erfassen, verfolgen und später auswerten. Unser Ziel waren geführte Prüfabläufe, um so auch die Produktionszeit zu verkürzen. Des Weiteren wollten wir die Endkontrolle der Baugruppen mit Messtechnik koppeln und diese Messergebnisse digital dokumentieren. Wir wollten eine digitale Produktakte aufbauen.

 

Welche Ihrer Ziele wurden dank der AQIs-Lösung erfüllt?

Herr Henglein: Die angestrebte Zeiteinsparung haben wir erreicht, weil jetzt alle Einstell-, Test- und Prüfabläufe automatisch in einem geführten Dialog mit dem Prüfer ablaufen. Die Prozesse sind transparenter, denn jetzt ist durch die automatisch erfassten digitalen Prüfdaten eine genaue Ursachenanalyse möglich. Wir haben vor, weitere AQIs-Prüfstände einzuführen.

© IGH Automation GmbH 2017